Difficulty and Play Modes in Fire Emblem Engage

When you start the Fire Emblem Engage there will be two choices that you have to make before entering the game. The first choice is the Difficulty Level and the other is Play Mode.

Difficulty in Fire Emblem Engage

There are three difficulty levels in the Fire Emblem Engage.

  • Normal
  • Hard
  • Maddening

You can make any choice for the game difficulty as per your challenging desire but the game recommends choosing the Normal difficulty for new players.

But you don’t need to be worried if you choose the harder level because you can always lower your difficulty level to easier at your base of operations, bed in the Somniel. But you cannot change the difficulty level from lower to harder once you selected it.

Play Modes in Fire Emblem Engage

After choosing the difficulty level, you need to choose play mode in Fire Emblem Engage.
There are two play modes in Fire Emblem Engage.

  • Casual Mode
  • Classic Mode

Difference Between Casual Mode and Classis Mode in Fire Emblem Engage

The only difference between the Casual Mode and Classic Mode is the permadeath.

In the Casual mode, the units of got defeated will be withdrawn from the battlefield and rest until the battle is finished. They will be found at the Somniel when the battle is finished and can be used in further battles.

In Classic mode, the defeated units will get lost permanently. Still, you can use Draconic Time Crystal to rewind the time and play your turn. The number of times you can rewind the time depends upon which battle you are playing and which difficulty mode you have selected.

For the Normal difficulty mode, you can rewind the time as many times as you want. but for the Hard and Maddening, you can only rewind the time 10 times per battle.